romanticism

Just another WordPress.com weblog

dreams March 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — boearle @ 6:47 pm
 

One Response to “dreams”

  1. Stephanie R. Says:

    I remember reading about Pausch’s childhood dreams when his book first came out and I thought about how wonderful it was for someone to actively make them into a reality. But after reading Keat’s, I find myself rethinking Pausch’s mission. One of his original goals was to be Captain Kirk and then it changed to meeting him, only to realize that neither was possible, so he becomes determined to meet the actor that plays Kirk. Although he is trying to fulfill that original fantasy, the image has to be constantly altered in order to fit reality. There is something innocent and wonderful about the childhood dream that is lost when it is translated into adult reality. Although Pausch encourages people to achieve their own dreams, I think leaving some of them untouched has benefits. There are certain childhood images that I have and want to retain in my memory as ideal moments. There is a threat that if I revisit the location today, where they occurred, that it will alter the image that I perceive as a representation of my childhood. In ‘Tintern Abbey’ there is the awareness that seeing the location also means Wordsworth cannot return to it in the same way, so I think Keat’s unfilled desire can be better than trying to relive one’s childhood. The dreams still frame our world and become a part of our reality without being altered to fit an idea of reality.


Leave a comment